HAL will be down for maintenance from Friday, June 10 at 4pm through Monday, June 13 at 9am. More information
Skip to Main content Skip to Navigation
Journal articles

The new EU enlargement: Editors’ introduction

Abstract : On 1st May 2004, ten countries will have joined the European Union (EU): Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovenia, and Slovakia. The presence of eight Central and Eastern European countries (CEECs hereafter) among the ten newcomers is particularly striking: these countries have had to make a giant step from centrally planned to market economies over an incredibly short time period. Accession to EU may thus be seen as a legitimate reward for countries which have undertaken a profound change in their political and economic structures. [First paragraph]
Document type :
Journal articles
Complete list of metadata

Contributor : Spire Sciences Po Institutional Repository Connect in order to contact the contributor
Submitted on : Wednesday, May 15, 2019 - 11:20:19 AM
Last modification on : Monday, March 21, 2022 - 2:47:54 PM


Publisher files allowed on an open archive


  • HAL Id : hal-01020072, version 2
  • SCIENCESPO : 2441/3002



Jérôme Creel, Sandrine Levasseur. The new EU enlargement: Editors’ introduction. Revue de l'OFCE, Presses de Sciences Po, 2004, pp.9 - 22. ⟨hal-01020072v2⟩



Record views


Files downloads